SJMC Weekly Announcements


Professor Dhavan Shah receives ICA B. Aubrey Fisher Mentorship Award

Congratulations to SJMC Professor Dhavan Shah on receiving the International Communication Association's (ICA) B. Aubrey Fisher Mentorship Award.

The award recognizes outstanding scholars, teachers, and advisors who serve as role models in those capacities and who have had a major impact on the field of Communication. Recipients of the award must also have influenced the discipline through their former students, who themselves are important figures in Communication.

SJMC researchers earn ICA awards

Congratulations to Dhavan Shah, Sang Jung Kim, Yibing Sun and Mengyu Li on receiving the Top Paper Award from the ICA Computational Methods Division for their paper "Building a Multimodal Classifier of Aggressive Political Style: A Tool for Understanding Political Performance in a Populist Era" along with co-authors Zhongkai Sun and Erik P. Bucy.

Congratulations also to Jianing Li (PhD'22), along with co-authors Jo Lukito (PhD'20), Ellie Yang (PhD'22), Jiyoun Suk (PhD'21), Dhavan Shah and Mike Wagner on receiving the 2022 Top Student Paper Award from the ICA Political Communication Division for her paper "Framing Black Lives Matter: The Persistence of Language Cues over Identity, Context, and Media Use." Jianing Li (PhD'22) and Mike Wagner also received a 2021 Top Poster Award for "Partisanship in Context" from the ICA PolComm Division.

Rowan Calyx Wins University Staff Recognition Award

Rowan is one of the recipients of this year's University Staff Recognition Award! Congratulations to Rowan!  

The University Staff Recognition Award is presented each year to those employees who are recognized for their outstanding achievements. These include promoting the image of the department or university through continual extension of service and courtesy to students, employees, and the public, consistently promoting excellence in themselves and colleagues, exhibiting leadership and maintaining grace under pressure/deadlines/crisis situations, initiating/recommending innovative ideas which are implemented and result in better service or efficiency, community service outside the university or within the university but not part of job responsibilities, behavior or personality that makes the workplace more pleasant.

An awards ceremony will be held on Monday, June 20 at 2:30pm in 272 Bascom Hall. 

Jenni is coordinating SJMC representation at the ceremony if you would like to attend.

Recent alum Jerome Barnett earns STAA Jim Nantz Award All-American honorable mention

Congratulations to recent grad Jerome Barnett (BA'22) on receiving honorable mention for the Sportscasters Talent Agency of America's (STAA) Jim Nantz Award All-American.

The STAA All-America program recognizes the nation’s most outstanding collegiate radio and TV sports broadcasters. Our mission is to encourage students to strive to achieve their best.

The Jim Nantz Award is presented each spring to the nation’s most outstanding collegiate sportscaster. The trophy honors the Hall of Fame CBS sports broadcaster who exemplifies the best of our industry on and off the air.

Have news to share? Email to be included in this weekly newsletter.